

The six awards-India's National Sports Awards- are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. The National Sports Awards are announced annually by **Union Youth Affairs and Sports Ministry**. All the awardees will receive their awards from the **President of India**.



S.No	Awards	Reason
1	Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award or (Khel Ratna)	The Outstanding performance in sports by a sportsperson (over the period of the previous 4 years)
2	Arjuna Award	Very good performance over a period of the previous 4 years and for showing qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.

3	Dronacharya Award	Given to <u>Coaches</u> for doing outstanding and meritorious work and for enabling sportspersons to excel in International events.
4	Major Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime achievement	After their retirement- Given to honour sportspersons who have contributed to sports by their performance and who continue to contribute to promotion of sports event.
5	Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy (MAKA Trophy)	Given to the overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments
6	Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar	Given to 1. Corporate Entities (both in private and public sector), 2. Sports Control Boards, 3. NGOs, 4. Sports bodies at the State and National level - who have played a significant role in the area of sports promotion and development.